Day five – A productive day and now in a different country

image

image

image

image

My brother had to be at work early, so it was an early start to get me back to the Blackbrook to resume my journey. The sun was out and it was a nice crisp morning. So crisp that I was glad I had thought to pack winter cycling gloves.

Good progress was made across the Somerset levels to Cheddar. The thing with the levels is that the towns are on the hills that stick up out of them, and the roads link the towns, so it’s not all plain sailing. There was still a bit of a head wind but much reduced from the last few days.

I stopped halfway up the hill into Wedmore to have a breakfast snack with the star attraction being another of the banana flapjacks that I had discovered yesterday.

At Cheddar I picked up a cycle path that led to Axbridge, and then beyond Axbridge the route goes through a dip in the Mendip hills, and at this point it takes an old railway line that goes through a tunnel thus avoiding any serious climbing at all.

The cycle path goes all the way to Yatton where I stopped at the station to get train tickets for me and the bike to enable me to break the ride for My father’s funeral and re-join the day afterwards. This took quite a long time, but having done it I cycled off towards Clevedon and avoiding tactics for the next range of hills.

The route then goes through Calpton in Gordano where there is a rather nice and old court and a splendid pub, the Black Horse, where I had lunch.

After lunch the goal was the Wye valley, and to reach it I had to cross the Avon, then the Severn, and then the Wye itself. The cycle route to the Avon bridge is not very well signed in contrast to the Severn Bridge.

After crossing the Severn and entering Wales, I headed straight for the Wye valley. I had planned to cycle a high route to the West of the valley, but in order to get to Monmouth before dark, I decided to risk the main road up the valley. In reality the road proved to be quiet and a treat to ride up, with stunning scenery.

On getting to Monmouth it took me a while to find the camp site, but I managed to get the tent pitched before dark, and then cooked and eat by torch light before popping to the pub round the corner for a pint before blog.

Overall a lot achieved today, with 104 miles covered (although not all in the right direction). I really enjoyed most of the riding as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day five – A productive day and now in a different country

  1. Jim says:

    Keep it up Peter – its nice to hear about your travels – helps me escape from this hot sweaty office!

  2. Just Gai says:

    You seem to be getting into your stride.

    • SwarkPV says:

      Yes, the riding is easier although my sore knee is holding me back a bit.

      Thank you for all your comments, it’s really nice to be in touch with people when I’m actually on my own for most of the day. I’m actually enjoying my own company and doing my own thing, but I think I would get lonely if it wasn’t for the contact.

Leave a Reply

