Day two. Southwesterly point ticked off.

image

image

image

The day started with a bit of a lie in due to the early start yesterday. The shower was remarkably good for such a basic campsite.

I eventually set off just after 10, and reached Land’s End after a pleasant and easy ride at 10.45. After writing a few postcards, I visited the Hotel to officially check in for the start of the End to End.

On leaving Land’s End I was immediately battling against a strong head wind which was to stay with me for the rest of the day, unfortunately. This rather took the edge off a ride which otherwise had some breathtaking views, though with many steep hills. Cornwall is tough cycling country – I knew that before I started out.

My route took me around the west coast of the Penwith peninsula to St Ives, and I eventually made it to The Badger at Lelant for a late lunch of beef stew and dumplings washed down with a pint of Proper Job, a nice pint from the same brewery as Tribute.

There was more tough cycling after lunch up the West coast through Portreath, St Agnes and Perranporth, where I turned inland to find a campsite at Goonhavern. I settled on Penrose Holiday Park, which is a very tidy and well maintained site with all facilities. The owner kindly invited me to stay for free when she discovered that I was being sponsored.

So apart from the SW tick and the campsite result, it has been a slightly frustrating and disappointing day in terms of acheivement. This is the second day of under 60 miles, and at this rate I will not complete the challenge. However, Cornwall was always going to be tough, and there are good reasons that the last two days have been light. Tomorrow is unlikely to be much easier though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day two. Southwesterly point ticked off.

  1. Just Gai says:

    Hi Pete
    Having spent a good many holidays in Cornwall I agree that the route from Lands End to St Ives, while dramatically beautiful from the top deck of tourist bus, must be extremely challenging to a cyclist. However I’m glad you managed to appreciate the views.

    I note you are bypassing Bristol through Pill. Alan and I walked there along the cyclepath from Bedminster a couple of weeks ago. We weren’t over impressed by any of the pubs so I’d advise you to stop elsewhere for refreshment!

    |Happy pedalling!

Leave a Reply

